30 Days of Truth: Wanderlust

30 Days of Truth, Day 23: Something you wish you had done in your life.

travel

I want to travel. I have a serious case of wanderlust. It’s not that I’ve never been anywhere–I’ve been to Quebec, Banff, and Jamaica. I’ve taken a cruise through The Bahamas and The U.S. Virgin Islands. I’ve spent a summer in Malibu Canyon, and visited Disney World in Orlando. I’ve sung in Chicago and New York. But there is so much more of the world I have yet to see, and sometimes it is a physical ache.

napa

I want to go wine tasting in Napa. I want to snorkel in New Zealand. I want to eat pasta in Italy, and wander through the streets of Santorini.

santorini

I want to see an elephant in it’s natural habitat. I want to learn about other cultures through immersion instead of books. I want to experience something beyond my own window.

africa

I need to lay in the grass and watch the Northern lights. My life will not be complete until I have gone Whale Watching in Nova Scotia.

northern lights

Of course, I know my life isn’t over. I still have a chance to do it all. It just seems that the more responsibilities I get as I move through life, the harder it is to take off. How can I go to Kenya and Japan, when there’s a job to be at, homework to help with, Christmas presents to buy, and the kids need new shoes?

portugal

I harbour a ferocious jealousy towards anyone I know who was travelling while I was studying, working, getting married and getting pregnant. It’s true what they say–you’re only young once.

I wonder why I was in such a hurry. Why checking the boxes was so important that I didn’t realize where it would lead and what I would be leaving behind.

surfing

I haven’t given up. But it has been five years since I have been anywhere, and the explorer in me really wants to come out. So I look at options that are more doable.

The cherry blossom festival in Washington instead of Japan. Glacier Park, Montana–you could almost convince yourself you’re in Iceland.

montana

I wonder if I will leave as soon as my kids do. If, fifteen years from now, I will hoist a backpack on my back, say my good-byes, and just take off.

yosemite

Life is full of surprises–I know that as well as anyone. I don’t know what our situation will be tomorrow, or next year, or five years down the road. Maybe we’ll turn into a “normal” family who can actually afford to go places together. Maybe I’ll win this week’s jackpot (of course, that would actually require buying a ticket). Maybe I will get a better paying job. Maybe my husband will. Maybe we both will. travel

One way or another, my wanderlust will be satisfied.

keepgoing

 



Leave a Reply

