30 Days of Truth: My Personal Playlist

music

30 Days of Truth, Day 24: Make a playlist to someone, and explain why you chose all the songs.

I am not going to make a playlist for anyone else. . .but I will share some songs that tell the story of my life. They will likely not be in any kind of order, because it’s late and I just don’t have the organizational skills for that!

Royals, by LORDE describes how I feel about money.

“And we’ll never be royals. It don’t run in our blood. That kinda lux just ain’t for us. We crave a different kind of buzz.”

Love the Way You Lie, Pt. 2 by Rhianna describes the relationship I am apparently still getting over. (The linked version features the original song writer–have a listen!)

“On the first page of our story, the future seemed so bright. Then the saint turned out so evil…don’t know why I’m still surprised.”

Say Something by A Great Big World describes how I often feel about my marriage.

“Say something, I’m giving up on you. I’ll be the one if you want me to.”

Hide and Seek by Imogen Heap describes how I felt when I was leaving religion, and everyone tried to convince me that I just needed to trust god, even when I didn’t see how I could.

“Whatcha say? That you only meant well? Well, of course you did. Whatcha say? That it’s all for the best? Of course it is. Whatha say? That this is just what we need? You decided this. Whatcha say? What did you say?”

Raise Your Glass by Pink explains pretty well my not-giving-a-fuck about being deviant.

“We will never be anything but loud, and nitty gritty, dirty little freaks.”

She Says by Ani Difranco will always remind me of my first girlfriend and first love.

“She says forget what you have to do. Pretend there’s nothing outside this room. Like an idea she came to me. But she came too late, or maybe too soon. Please try not to love me. Close your eyes, I’m turning on the light. You know I have no vacancy, and it’s awfully cold outside tonight…”

Away from the Sun by Three Doors Down describes my often-present depression.

“Now again I’ve found myself so far down. Away from the sun that shines into the darkest place, I’m so far down, away from the sun that shines to light the way for me, to find my way, back into the arms that care about the ones like me. I’m so far down, away from the sun again.”

Lullaby by the Dixie Chicks always makes me cry, because it perfectly sums up how I feel about my kiddos.

“They didn’t have you where I come from. Never knew the best was yet to come. Life began when I saw your face. And I hear your laugh like a serenade. . .”

And finally, Strong Enough by Sheryl Crow describes the somewhat amusing but ever-terrifying fear that NO ONE is strong enough to be my man!

“Nothing’s true, nothing’s right. . .so let me be alone tonight. Cause you can’t change the way I am. Are you strong enough to be my man?”

 

 



Leave a Reply

