This is My Life

andthen

We disabled our OkCupid accounts today.

There is no reason for us to look anymore.

“I’m done,” he said.

Me too.

I am bungee-ing back and forth between elation and terror.

I am so happy, yet so apprehensive.

My apprehension has nothing to do with him. Well, that’s not strictly true. But I am not gun-shy because of anything he is, has said, or has done. It is the fact that I honestly never thought I’d find him. Never, ever, ever.

The chances. . .they are like finding a needle in a haystack, or winning the lottery. How is it possible that there is someone out there who is so much fun, so smart, so hilariously quirky and such a great lover? How is it possible that he is so cute, so honest, so kind, so considerate, andΒ  that he understands where I am coming from, and says things I have thought and felt, but never been able to express to another human being? How did I find someone who is so spontaneous yet responsible, such a gentleman yet such a badass, who loves with his whole heart yet does not become possessive or jealous or needy?

And how is it possible that, being all of these things, he wants me?

I feel like I’m dreaming. . .but this is my life.


13 Comments on “This is My Life”

  1. Mr. Gardener says:

    Enjoy every minute of it

  2. KinkyPoly says:

    I loved reading this! So happy for you

  3. A_Female says:

    Are all families involved and on board or is there a “big picture” thing happening here? Best wishes to you for smooth sailing πŸ™‚

    • His wife is on board with him having a long-term or permanent relationship aside from theirs–his OkC profile said he wants his next relationship to last the rest of his life, and she fully supports this and is falling in love with her boyfriend (NOT Sugar Daddy lol), too.

      My hubby is also totally cool with it. We have discussed the idea of how poly, for me, would ideally be an extension of my family–more people to love, and do life with, not just someone to go out with and fuck.

      I’ve met his wife and daughter, though we’ll keep my kids out of it for awhile yet since they are so little and will blurt things out to others without being able to properly explain it. And we don’t want them ostracized from other kids at school, while Gentleman Friend’s children are all grown up and doing their own thing.

      I don’t know if we’ll ever be one big happy family–more like two families with us as the hinge, and another hinge with his wife and her boyfriend should it all work out.

      Neither of us is saying we are both in this forever, we just can’t know yet, it’s too soon. But its what we want.

  4. A_Female says:

    Got it. I hope all works out. Sounds promising.

  5. Enjoy it! Embrace it. They are out there. It took me 42 years to find mine. So happy for you. πŸ™‚

  6. plantpage says:

    I’m very happy for you. You deserve it

  7. Marty says:

    Congratulations. Treasure him


Leave a Reply

