The End?

youwerehere

He says they broke up.

I can’t gauge much from a text.

He says he can’t talk about it yet.

I say we should take a break. Maybe she will be more willing to work on herself and the way she treats him without the stress of our relationship. They can go to counselling–three months, six, a year. They can approach it from a different place, without jealousy crippling their (her) ability to reason. They can rebuild, or fail, but know every possible measure was taken. We can wait until we know for sure that they will work, or that they are doomed, before he lets it end.

He says it won’t help. He says it’s too late. He says she had already made up her mind–that she needs to be away from him.

I feel nothing. I feel numb. I am in shock.

I am going to be sick.

He says he is sorry–this will be hard on our relationship. It will shake us–the blast radius.

I tell him not to worry about me. I tell him I have his back.

I don’t know what to think.

Maybe this isn’t really happening. Maybe they will fall into each others arms tonight and vow to make it work. Maybe he will tell her of my offer. Maybe she will take it.

Maybe the kids won’t have two Christmases. Maybe they will still take vacations all together. Maybe they will eat dinner and play board games around the same table into infinity.

Maybe that’s what I want. With or without me.


8 Comments on “The End?”

  1. Marty says:

    Nothing you can do. Just stay out of the way

  2. lizeden says:

    ((((((hugs))))))

    Who knows what will happen? And who knows what is best for the most people?

    Take care of yourself, ok? We’re here, if you need to vent/get it out/whatever.

  3. I’m with Marty on this.

    …and you’ll be ok, whatever happens. 🙂

  4. SheIsFemale says:

    Hang in there. You’re not alone.

  5. masterandbabydoll says:

    It’s hard watching your loved one muddle through the end of their other relationship. But you can do it. You’re strong. Unless you need to take a break for yourself, don’t. He needs you and he needs the bond you have together to get through this. Just take care of yourself at the same time.
    Always here for you!

  6. xtal says:

    You’ve been blogging this dynamic for a long time. Maybe you really didn’t see it coming….but I did. With great emphasis, I saw it coming. The writing has been on the wall the whole time. It’s sad if you’re sad, and most kids come from broken homes but make sure you’re not reliving your past hurts vicariously through Papas kids. The marriage between Papa and Wifey was truly unhealthy and it needed to stop. The byproduct of sadness is tragic and it plain sucks! But come along now…. I’ve learned you are a super intelligent woman, so, what aspect of their marriage did you think could proceed in a holistic fashion? Come on now. Even I’m thankful they are choosing to go separate ways.


Leave a Reply

