Rumours, rumours, rumours…

i dont care

And then I found out that months and months ago, there was a rumour going around at work, that Boss Man and I were having an affair.

I did NOT react well. I believe my exact words were “Are you fucking serious!?”

I wanted to know why.

“You were always there.”

“You were always in his office with the door locked.”

“You were chasing each other around.”

“You called his office just to tease him.”

“I was pretty sure you were both going to get fired.”

“But don’t worry, it was a long time ago, it’s calmed down now.”

Oh. My. Fucking. God.

I didn’t tell him that that had been the rumor. I just spent the rest of the day shaking, my heart pounding.

Then last weekend, out at drinks with my co-workers, Boss Man texting me the whole time, a coworker who hadn’t been around when the rumors had been circulating, asked me a question.

Emboldened by the alcohol coursing through her system, she said “So I have this theory that Tinder Girl is just a fictitious girlfriend that Boss Man is making up, but its actually you.”

Whaaaaa?

I burst out laughing. I had no idea what else to do.

“See, you’re laughing because it’s true!” She was laughing too.

“No, it’s not true,” I said, still laughing. “But I am going to text him and tell him you just said that.”

And I did.

“Super :(” he texted back.

“I just wanna know,” she continued.

“You want to know what?” I countered.

“Are you guys in love?”

I laughed again. I don’t remember what I said back to her. I think it was something along the lines of “All we ever talk about are his relationship issues. I give great love advice.”

She said “Okay.”

“I feel like you don’t believe me,” I said back.

She shrugged. “I don’t know–should I?”

I shrugged too, still laughing.

Dear God. You can’t make this shit up, people.


2 Comments on “Rumours, rumours, rumours…”

  1. Marty says:

    And it won’t go away

  2. […] rumours we now ignore, because none of them know what they’re talking about. In his words “They […]


Leave a Reply

